top of page

Final Blog Post

Final Blog for SingFo:

Hi, my name is Shir,

and I’m about to share my idea:

Meet my app “Singfo” ;

helping you learn so you will be a pro.

SINGFO will sing the information.

So that you will learn a ton.

This app is here to help you ace the test

by turning your notes into a cool song that’s the best!

That will make it easy to memorize.

Without having to guess with a million tries.

In order to see what song will help you next

you will need to search the subject or topic you need for the test!

So, pass your test by learning with singfo!

It’s fun with learning in a song-filled show!

From the last blog, we have accomplished a lot. I really can’t believe how intensive this process was, and despite numerous obstacles, I worked hard with my Faculty Advisor, Mrs. Israel, to create a prototype for my final project which I am very proud of and plan to continue to build on in order to help students learn Judaic Studies content through song.

I would like to reflect back on my process of creating The Singo. Initially, I noticed that a huge part of the problem in Jewish Education is the need to develop study skills in Judaic subjects. I had surveyed a sample population at Kinneret, and found that virtually everyone stated that they enjoy music and can more easily remember song lyrics and tunes than they can remember information for a test. Therefore, my idea was to create the “SINGFO” app to help all students to study by singing through information instead of just trying to remember it. Studies show that using music to learn reduces anxiety and enhances the way students can process information, language and speech, which is perfect for helping students learn Judaic Studies.

My “App” enables to find and use songs loaded with content information they need to help them study. SInce my original app developer backed out of the process and we could not get another one despite numerous attempts, Mrs. Israel and I decided to create a Website that looks like an app, with subpages for different songs and content. It was a serious project but it was really fun and worth all the effort and time. I spent time with Mrs. Israel picking perfect songs to upload. I also wrote some of my own songs and recorded them with my friends, which we uploaded to the app. I designed a logo and learned how to survey students using different formats of applications. I learned how to write a blog and upload images. These are life skills that I think will help me on future projects.

Later phases beyond the prototype will have more choices and the ability for students to input or upload their own notes. We added a page for students to either send us a link for us to check their songs for appropriateness, or request that we write a song for whatever subject they are studying. In this way, I hope to eventually build a crowd-sourcing app of Jewish knowledge, all learned through song. In the website itself, you can press the subject you need/ want to learn about find a song that fits and try to memorize whatever you need to learn! The students who have tried it have all said how much fun it is and many are already signed up to request more songs!

I feel that I have learned so much through the development of this amazing and helpful project. First, it has forced me to work on learning English--I am Israeli and this has been a challenge for me. Also, this project took a huge amount of time, dedication and work. I met with Mrs. Israel, my faculty adviser, and Ms. Shrem, my Judaic Studies teacher, for a few hours each week during lunch as we planned and designed this project, revising and changing things as we went in order to meet each obstacle. I also feel that I built a very strong relationship with my teachers and fellow students who I looked to for information and to serve as my test market for the project. I think the implications for this project model is that it empowers students to learn how to be leaders and use their teachers as resources. I learned how to problem-solve, work with other students, gather date and information, and share my vision to effectively make an action plan for my project. I hope that my project helps many people because it has definitely helped me to develop as a student and as a leader for the future learners. Thank you, Avi Chai and JEP, for giving me this opportunity to change the lives of future students for the better!

bottom of page